One Month, and the countdown continues!

So much to do….so many loose ends to tie up.

Going back to the “Zen Things”, ‘Do one thing at a time’ is something I’m striving for right now, because I find, in my mind at least, I’m trying to do or sort out 3 or 4 things at any given time, and that is very counter-productive and confusing.

I’ve found out that in this process of minimizing, the deeper into it I go, the more difficult it becomes. Those first layers of ‘stuff’, like the cloths that never did fit right or the shoes I didn’t really like anyway ….that was a piece of cake.  Now, not so much.   It’s an emotional roller coaster, with all these decisions about what to let go of, then the pain of letting go, followed quickly by a sigh of relief, after I’ve done so.  Each item I release allows me to feel a bit more freedom, and a bit more lightness, and that feels good and right.  I’m glad to be doing it, but I’ll be REALLY HAPPY when the process is FINISHED and I’m on the road!

On the lighter side….

Tomorrow morning, July 1, I’ll be registering for my first Casita Rally, which is being held in Grapeland, Texas near the end of October.  Every time I say that name, the song “Graceland” (Simon and Garfunkle) plays in my head, except I replace the ‘Graceland’ with ‘Grapeland’ and it makes me giggle.  🙂  

“I’m going to Grapeland, Grapeland, Memphis, Tennessee.  I’m going to Grapeland.  I’ve reason to believe, we all will be received at Grapeland.” 

Hope I made you smile!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to One Month, and the countdown continues!

  1. Ego says:

    Steve has relatives in Grapevine which is not Grapeland but it’s what I think of every time I read Grapeland. I’m leaving for Florida on the 4th, way to excited, I’m like a child which probably won’t be hard for you to ‘imagine’. In my mind that is our song even though we are MickChicks!

  2. Cat Lady says:

    You might want to check out http://www.flylady.net/c/fp.php?tzm=300 for decluttering tips, etc. If the url I gave is in error, it’s flylady.net Her motto is, “You can do anything for 15 minutes.” Set a timer and work on that task exclusively. You’ll be surprised what you can accomplish in that short 15 minutes.

    I’m apparently the opposite of other folks: I want to get a bulldozer and level it all…get rid of it, let it go. It’s just stuff and it’s holding me back. Not my stuff because I’ve gotten rid of all I can. I’m talking about my husband’s stuff. To him, it’s collectibles…to me, not so much…it’s just old junk. I put stuff in the big black garbage bags, take it around front for the trash, and he’s out there dragging it back because “he might need it tomorrow.” He hasn’t used it in the last 40 years, why should tomorrow be different? Get rid of it.

    I’ve got 3 pairs of jeans, some shirts, undies, 2 pair of shoes…that’s it. If I can’t wear jeans, I don’t go. I had to “dress” for 30 years for my job…no more.

    You can’t take all that stuff with you when you die. I’ve been told that if you could, my stuff would burn, lol. I’m sure you’re a wonderful woman so that wouldn’t be your problem. Maybe you could donate your nicer clothes to a woman’s shelter that helps women get clothes for a new/better job.

    Downsizing if liberating. Nothing to hold you back from doing what you want to do. I believe I’ve seen your signature on RVSue and Her Canine Crew. Sue’s got the right idea.

    See you on the flip side I hope.

    Cat Lady

    • Thanks for the FlyLady link. Very interesting site. I like the ‘swish and swipe’ cleaning tip for July. 🙂 I subscribe to the ‘Becoming Minimalist’ blog, and that inspires me too. Lots of hints and links there.

      And thanks for the reminder about keeping things simple and basic. That’s what I want to do, but sometimes I get bogged down in the emotion of it. It all gets very heavy, (mentally and emotionally as well as physically!) and I long for the lightness. Believe me, there are days I would like to use a bulldozer too! I especially like your line “If I can’t wear jeans I don’t go.” YES!

      Yes, you’ve seen me at RVSue’s site. I’ve read her blog from the beginning and she’s such a great role model for the lifestyle I’m hoping to attain….wandering, simple and free.
      I even wrote about her here in “A Blog About A Blog”.

      Yes, I hope to meet up with you ‘out there’ Cat Lady!

  3. Patty Kennedy says:

    Micky,

    I have been thinking about you selecting Sourh Dakota as your home base. Would you consider Texas instead since you are already going there? Or that may be add to your long list of things to deal with. If you are interested, I would be happy to connect you with my full timing cousin who does use Texas. He also belongs to a few single full timing groups.

    Patty

    >

    • Hi Patty,
      Thank you for thinking about me and South Dakota. I did hear about Texas being a good state to be a resident of for full time RVers, and I looked into it. Right now I don’t remember why I didn’t choose it, but I think it might have had something to do with having to go back every year for….I don’t remember what. I might want to go to Texas from time to time but I don’t want to have to be there at a certain time each year, and I think that was the reason I didn’t choose it. In SD I only HAVE to show up once every 5 years to renew my drivers license. America’s Mailbox, my home base, can do everything else for me when needed.

      Always love hearing your suggestions Patty, and coffee the other morning was fun!

      • Reine in Plano says:

        Micky and Patty,
        Since I live in Texas I can confirm that Texas residents have to get their vehicle inspected once a year. According to the latest rules, you have to have your vehicle inspected within the 90 days preceding the expiration of your license tags. If Texas isn’t your home base like some snowbirds who come here each winter then that would be a pain, Although I’m a born and raised Texan, I think South Dakota is a bit easier and more accommodating for full timers.

        Happy Fourth of July. Only 27 days till your retirement!!!!!

    • Micky I’m testing, I signed up to get your blog weekly. Take a look on the map, see how close I am to Texas (8-10 hours) to San Miguel de Allende, MX. XOXO, Deb

      • Hi Deb,
        I’m glad you are coming along with me! I’m hoping the blog will be more than weekly but whenever I post something you should get an email notice. So you are a couple of days drive into Mexico. I’ll have to look into that. 🙂

  4. Michael says:

    I loved that Paul Simon song Graceland…haven’t heard it in years. Thank you for reminding me! Can’t wait to hear about your experiences as you embark on your new life.

    • Good to have your Zen influence coming along with me Michael. I’ll be needing that. Looking forward to hearing about your travels too!
      Yes, I have that Graceland CD and all the songs on it are pretty good!

Leave a Reply

