An End….And A Beginning

Yesterday was the last day I will punch a clock. I feel like I’m dreaming.  It’s been about 17,520 days since I started working (give or take 100), and this was the last one. The last day. That’s about 48 years.  

The past 17 years working at Community Hospital of the Monterey Peninsula, I have been blessed to be associated with the most wonderful women you can imagine.The best nurses and supporting staff, all in all, a TEAM of health care workers that can knock your socks off.  AND, help birth your baby.

It was the last day of an era,  and  now August 1, 2014 is the first day of the rest of my life.  

I think (as always)  the thing to do is to make each day count and to live each one with peace and joy and love in my heart.

First, ‘to live each one’….one day at a time….one hour at a time, with gratitude.

Next, ‘with peace’….that would be inner, outer, spiritual, world….you name it.  Walk in peace upon the earth mother.

‘and joy’….a joyful heart is like good medicine.

‘and love in my heart’….love for ALL beings, Great Spirit, the earth, air and sea.  

“The greatest of these is love”, and the Beatles said the same thing in different words:

“All we need is love….love is all we need.”

ANYWAY…

Onward, with the final 9 days of preparation for departure ahead….

Lets pack and party on!

10577005_10202292513938548_8577878214658024982_nWh-Wha-WHEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to An End….And A Beginning

  1. Marsha says:

    Congratulations on the next chapter of your life.

  2. Patty says:

    So happy for you!! Enjoy every moment! xxoo

  3. Got a lump in my throat…a happy lump 🙂

  4. Mo says:

    Blessings on you for your long, giving career in healthcare, for your emotional journey ahead, for your physical journey on the road with your fur babies. Congratulations!

  5. Reine in Plano says:

    Yippee!!!!!!! Days to “lift off” can now be counted on your fingers!

    • And it just seems like a couple days ago you said that about the retirement date! I know you told me to take it easy today but there was SO much to do. Well, now I’m resting because I just about can’t move. I think I’m emotionally exhausted as well as physically.

  6. ZenOnWheels says:

    Heartfelt congratulations! I know this feeling well…and it lasts awhile. Enjoy it!

    I am very much looking forward to reading about your adventures as you head out. What direction are you headed first? When I take off after Labor Day I’m planning an extended trip starting in the northwest. I will probably head for Crate Lake in Oregon first, then Seattle and then…who knows! 🙂

    Congratulations again you this amazing milestone. Retirement is wonderful.

    • ZenOnWheels says:

      Oops. Make that ‘Crater Lake’. 🙂

      • Thank you Michael! I’ll be heading slowly up to Washington, and should reach my goal just north of Seattle around August 23. Visiting some friends on the way. From there I’m heading to South Dakota to become a resident of the state (but not to live there), and then back to CA for a week or so with family. Then down to Texas for a Casita Rally! A LOT of driving, and after that stint, my thought is to minimize the driving and spend more time just being.

        I’m enjoying your blog!

  7. Ego says:

    August 5th I’ll be in the big thicket. I’ll ask about fur friendly places. As always, you are to be admired. Hug, Ego….

  8. Oh that would be great if The Big Thicket would work!

  9. Reine in Plano says:

    We really like Village Creek State Park at Lumberton, TX It’s about 15 miles south of the Big Thicket National Preserve and about 15 miles north of Beaumont, TX. Village Creek also has LOADS of trails that you can take your dogs on as long as they’re on a leash. I think you can take the dogs on the Big Thicket trails but not in the buildings. If you go there after Pine Knot, it might be cool enough that you could leave the dogs in the truck for a few minutes to check out the Visitor Center. FYI, If you’re planning to camp in Texas State Parks more than four or five days, it’s definitely worth the $70 to get the Texas State Parks Pass. You immediately get four coupons for half price off one nights camping when you stay two nights. That’s about $40 right there. The pass also gives you free access to all the Texas State Parks. Texas has an entrance fee for each state park that ranges from $3 to $6 per day. Most of our parks have great campgrounds with water and electric and some have full hookups although they usually cost more.

Leave a Reply

