I Did It!

I did it!  I started my journey and made it to my first camp.  I’m looking at this gigantic August moon that I’ve been dreaming of for awhile now. It’s a good beginning. 

The he day started out with rushing, quite a bit of anxiety, throwing last minute things where ever there was a space, and only getting down half a cup of coffee.  A friend helped me make sure all the hooking up was done correctly, and finally I was off. It feels quite different driving the rig when it’s fully loaded…and I do mean “fully”!  

I arrived safely at dear friends Laura and Joel’s house, where the dogs got to go for a walk, Joel worked on a couple of issues for me, including the “Joel Pole” which I’ll explain soon. Laura served a beautiful vegan lunch and routed me through the worst of my drive.  They gifted me with some lovely wine (which I’m enjoying some of right now), and then I was off to make my way through the maze of freeways and traffic that would take me around Oakland and up to Winters, where I landed safely. 

When I arrived I wanted to make sure that Joy and Shiloh  were happy so they ended up taking a swim and watching ducks.  That, along with a good roll in the dirt ( while still wet), and they are now happy campers!   

And for me… Looking at that beautiful moon and realizing that this is all really happening…

That’s making me a very happy camper tonight. 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to I Did It!

  1. Reine says:

    Yippeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Congratulations.

  2. ZenOnWheels says:

    I was hoping we would see a post from you tonight…and here it is! Glad to see you’ve made it to your very first camp. Wishing you a happy day tomorrow.

    • Not much internet out here and there may not be for awhile so my posts may be spotty for awhile. I’m at Black Butte Lake and still wet from swimming with Joy and Shiloh. First time ever that I’ve been able to swim with them! It was wonderful! 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    Congratulations! Joel and I toasted you from our garden, while looking at the same August moon. So happy to that you were able to stop at our house and get a little more tech stuff done, and that you were able to enjoy that chilled tomato soup (made from our tomatoes!) I only wish you’d had room to take some of the cuban black beans…when you swing through again later this year, we’ll certainly have a fine meal waiting 🙂 Glad you’re enjoying the wine, too! Sleep well tonight, you’ve earned every minute of it. Hugs for the muddy puppies, too.

  4. diane dibble says:

    very happy for you! sounds like a great start today!

  5. Leslie from Australia says:

    Ah! I am so happy for you – I bet the nervous system had a hammering during your drive – but remember this time next year you will have loads of interesting stuff behind you in this new chapter in your book of life – great start & I am sure loads of folks will follow & add mini chapters for you – I look forward 2 jumping on board with all best 《AUSSIE – good on ya mate》wishes

    • Thank you for the Aussie good wishes!
      Yes the anxiety was running on overload through the traffic…now we are in the opposite mode. Hat, barefootin’, not bothering to change out of my wet swim cloths. Sitting and listening to the wind in the trees and the waves lap the shore.

      Learning my new lifestyle:-)

  6. So proud and happy for you and the pups. I’m betting you slept better than you did the night before you left. Now you can have all the coffee you want before you leave…you’ve got your own potty tagging behind, might was well use it, lol.

    Hugs to you and the pups. Take care.

    Cat Lady

  7. Ruby Red says:

    Ditto on Laura’s reply – looked up at that very special moon last night and was hoping you were doing the same…and you were. The first night of the rest of your FREE life – enjoy and be safe. Sending much love.

    • It’s nice to be 3000 miles apart and still be looking at the same beautiful thing. I feel casualness and relaxation rubbing off some of my Torn And Frayed edges. Already. But there are an awful lot of them…it would take years to make me smooth.
      Sending Much Love back to you Ruby Red.

  8. Ego says:

    This is very exciting!!!!!!!! Can you post pictures? I know, more for you to stress about. 🙊

    • Where I am now Internet is very intermittent…seems to blow away with the wind. At some point I hope to post pictures but between the internet and learning this and just not wanting to stress any more than possible…I’ll wait a bit. 🙂

  9. JillyB says:

    Sooooo happy for you Mick!! Can’t wait to see where we’re headed tomorrow,,,,,,😉

  10. Deborah White says:

    Can’t wait to find out what the Joel pole is:-) glad you’re on your way!! Hugs.

Leave a Reply

