The Swing

The sky last evening.

The sky last evening.

There is no playground here where I am camped, but there are two swings…big sturdy swings on steel poles with heavy chain….uh….swing holders.

We walk by many times and they sway slightly in the small breeze, tempting me. Finally the temptation gets the best of me and I tie Joy and Shiloh to a nearby tree and sit on a swing. I grasp the chain links and they feel so familiar to my hands! It’s just like at my grade school where I often ran for the swings at recess.

Gosh, holding those sturdy links, I feel 10 years old again!

I push off with my feet and begin pumping my legs. I go higher and higher and the wind blows through my hair, back and forth. My smile is big. πŸ™‚

The words to Robert Lewis Stevenson’s poem “The Swing” come into my mind:

“How do you like to go up in a swing
Up in the air so blue,
Oh I do think it the pleasantest thing,
Ever a child can do.

Up in the air and over the wall,
Till I can see so wide,
Rivers and trees and cattle and all
Over the countryside-

Till I look down on the garden green,
Down on the roof so brown-
Up in the air I go flying again,
Up in the air and down.”

“A child!” A wonderful part of me is still 10 years old!

One of my favorite things about getting older is that all of my previous ages are present within me. Part of me is still 5….still 10….still 15….and on it goes to 60, and now 65. Thankfully I am not just 65, I’m all of those ages and I can connect with them at will. And I do!…as I pump my legs into the air over and over again.

Life is good at age 10!

Later as we continue on our walk I realize I left the loaded doggie poop bag back at the swings. Back we go to pick it up and put it in the trash can because I’ve returned to adulthood and responsibility and being 65, which is fine, too. πŸ™‚

But I touch those heavy chain links one more time, as the swing sways in the breeze. Maybe tomorrow I’ll let it tempt me again.

IMG_0492

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Swing

  1. Pam says:

    Yeahhhhhh go for it. But next time swing on the bars like we use to do in your backyard!!!!

  2. :-))) Thankfully no bars here. Good thing because I might have been tempted to do that too, and sustained damage! πŸ™‚

  3. boldlydriven says:

    There’s nothing quite so freeing as swinging. How wonderful to be ten again for just a few moments!

  4. Patty says:

    Funny, I had a similar feeling swinging with my 18 mo old grandaughter on my lap, as she is laughing! Lovely for you!

  5. I drool every time I see a swing! Having one of my own has always been a dream.

  6. ZenOnWheels says:

    It warms my heart to see anyone letting their inner ten year old out to play. It is wonderful to reconnect with childhood joys and transport them into the present like this. I, too, have many fond memories of time on the swing set. I suspect that, like you, I would have had a tough time resisting.

    I really liked how you think about your former ages: “…I’m all of those ages and I can connect with them at will.” What a marvelous and healthy perspective!

  7. BadgerRickInWis says:

    What a wonderful way to spend a day. Keep enjoying all that the universe brings.

  8. rambler2b says:

    Hi Micky, What a nice post. I never thought of how we have all of our different ages within us. Such a beautiful thing to say. Reminds me of the little 10 year old Mary in me that comes up every 4th of July when I see a Cotton Candy machine at a festival. When I was 10 and watching the big 4th of July parade in my hometown of Onaway, Michigan, they always had Cotton Candy machines.The ONLY time of year you could get one. I always wanted one SOOOO BAD, but had no money and no one to buy it for me. Now, I am not supposed to have sugar, but my 60 year old Mary, treats the 10 year old Mary about once a year to a Cotton Candy! Finally, I can have one! You have great writing skills Micky. Really puts me on that swing and i can feel the breeze on my face and my hair flying. The shear delight of being weightless for a split second when you reach the top and the little tickle in the tummy when you fall back down to Earth again!

    • I think that finally letting 10 year old Mary have her longed for cotton candy is probably a very healing thing….for the 10 year old and for the 60 year old. Maybe sometimes we need to work on healing the child within, before we can heal the adult.
      Once when I was feeling especially down on myself I pulled out a picture of me when I was about 8 or so, in my Brownie uniform. I put it in a frame in a place where I could see it frequently and reminded myself that I’m that same person….part of me is still that little girl, so just be kind to her and love her. Don’t be so down on her….I think it helped!

  9. Marcia GB in MA says:

    I loved this post. That was my favorite poem as a young child, and at the ripe old age of 68, I never pass up the opportunity to swing!

  10. lyricalaska says:

    So good to read about you, Micky!1 I wish, however, I could change to which e-mail addy these go to because I don’t go to Yahoo that often ….

Leave a Reply

