Pictures for First Snow

We were at America's Mailbox when the snow started.  They want to put this picture on their website.  :-)

We were at America’s Mailbox when the snow started. They want to put this picture on their website. 🙂

We moved across town to LazyJ's where there was more room and better views, and it costs less too!

We moved across town to LazyJ’s where there was more room and better views, and it costs less too!

IMG_0560

The snow is so pretty, and...quiet.

The snow is so pretty, and…quiet.

Shiloh gives me a delighted smile!  :-)

Shiloh gives me a delighted smile! 🙂

Joy enjoys rolling! :-)

Joy enjoys rolling! 🙂

Whereas I enjoy coffee!

Whereas I enjoy coffee!

Cozy!

Cozy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Pictures for First Snow

  1. Maureen O'Connor says:

    Lovely!

  2. Abel in Austin says:

    Wish we could some of that snow here in Austin. It’s been 100+ for a good number of days now . We are getting a cold front today which is going to drop the temperature to the high 80’s. You all enjoy that snow.

  3. Marian says:

    I love your pics, Micky! Shiloh’s looking at the picnic table: where are the burgers and buns?!

  4. cozybegone says:

    Those are all great….cozy indeed!!

  5. Yes I borrowed your name didn’t I? 🙂

  6. ZenOnWheels says:

    So what are your strategies for staying warm and toasty? I’m still haven’t experienced snow on the road, but the nights are sure getting cold. I’ll confess to feeling a little trepidation about my first below freezing night. Are you finding it easy to keep warm in spite of the wintery weather outside?

    • One more thing I want to mention is reflexes. I think that’s how it’s spelled. You can use it to line your windows if you notice that cold air is coming in. it’s silver stuff with bubble like insulation in the middle, but very thin. It comes in a big roll, and you can find it on Amazon, or I suspect at Home Depot or the like. There are many ways to put it over the windows. The Casita Forum has had a big discussion on it which you could search.
      I have cut one piece so far and put it over my largest window. Now that it’s not so cold I took it down because it blocks a lot of light. I’m storing it under the mattress.
      I just read about using regular bubble wrap too, if the light blocking is a problem.

  7. Reine says:

    I’m not Micky but we have a two fold strategy. Our primary strategy for cold weather is to camp where we have electric hookups but we occasionally camp without.. First a dual control electric blanket under a quilt for when we’re hooked up to shore power with an electric heater going to keep the inside of the Casita from getting really cold. Then when we don’t have hookups, we add a 20 degree sleeping bag opened up over the top of the quilt. We’ve camped in the Casita when it was down to 25 outside and 36 inside and slept fine. When we get up with no hookups, we turn on the burner to start the water for coffee and turn on the Wave 3 catalytic heater and it’s up to 65 inside in about 30 minutes.

    • ZenOnWheels says:

      I like the idea of adding a cold weather sleeping bag to the bedding solution! Great tip. I’m also going to look into a catalytic heater. I’ve got a furnace, but it draws a heck of a lot of propane and battery power to operate, so it’s not a great solution when dry camping without power hookup. I like the idea of a standalone heater that does not rely on the batteries. Good suggestion.

  8. Great ideas Reine. Someone mentioned putting a special kind of heating blanket underneath you, too.
    So far I’ve tried two different ways. I have a little propane furnace built into my Casita with a thermometer and all. I’ve used that with excellent results and no problem keeping warm.
    I also have a very small electric heater. (thought since I’m hooked up to electricity right now, why not use it?) It’s the kind people use to put under their desk to keep their legs cold if they work in a drafty office. It kept the temp at 62 inside when the temp outside was 30. 62 for sleeping is overkill as far as I’m concerned, but I wanted to see what would happen.
    I have two fluffy comforters on the bed and two dogs. The dogs are also big and fluffy and prefer sleeping on top of the covers, but they do add heat!

    • Reine says:

      I think you’re talking about an electric mattress pad. My mom has one but since my internal thermostat has been known to vary a bit during the night, I like having the blanket on top of me that I can “throw off” if I get too hot.

      And definitely use the electric heater when plugged in to shore power. No reason to use your propane when the electricity is part of your campground fee.

Leave a Reply

