Highway Child And Halloween

An old friend called me ‘Highway Child’ today.  It’s a Rolling Stones reference….a song they recorded many years ago and never released.  I have it in my collection…somewhere.  I went to You Tube and listened to it.  It brings back a lot of memories.

Music does that…

Anyway this Highway Child has been on the move.  We leave Ballinger City Park on Tuesday morning, October 29,  and arrive at Post, Texas in the afternoon.  We stay at Post View RV Park, and it’s, well, in a word….crappy.  Not a good experience.  Moving on…:-)

Wednesday, October 30, we decide to check out Bottomless Lakes State Park near Roswell, NM. Sounds a little spooky, doesn’t it ?  Appropriate for Roswell, and for upcoming Halloween.  I like it, and pay my $14 to spend the night.  I’d like to spend 2 nights but I’m not sure how that works in New Mexico State parks.  The sign says if you don’t have a reservation you can only pay for one night.

Hopefully tomorrow morning I’ll find the park host and ask if I can spend another night.

Joy swims in a bottomless lake.  Shiloh decides it’s not a good idea and doesn’t go in the water!  I have a craving for chili and I make a nice pot of it, and enjoy a bowl on the spot.

I have lots of laundry that needs to be done so I load it into the car and off we go to The Sunshine Laundromat in Roswell, which is about a 17 mile drive.  I would like to get home before dark.

It’s not gonna happen.  We leave the laundromat about 6:30 and the sun is setting.  I need to stop for gas, and that’s when I see…..

A little green man!

A little green man!

Actually he isn’t that little, and he isn’t really the first one I see but he is the first (and only) one I take a picture of.

Now I’m off for my 17 mile drive, through the open, empty, dark land of nothing, that surrounds Roswell.  On the night before Halloween.  Now I know this sounds silly as all get out, but I  feel very spooked!

As I  drive into the night.  I can see why this place…has a reputation. Ten miles out of town is my turn off, and then it’s 7 miles out to the lake where my little home sits waiting.  I’m driving on a small, dark road, and there is absolutely no one else coming or going.

“Shiver!”

Thankfully the only things I see in the sky as I drive are the moon and the stars.  I do see an airplane, and I scrutinize it carefully, but, really it’s only an air plane.  (A tad disappointing, huh?)  🙂

We make it safely back to our ‘Little House’ , and it looks so inviting and cozy.  I carry in the laundry, feed the dogs, get into my Jammie’s, and lock the door against any and all little green men.  Phew, safe at last!   And this is your Halloween story with a happy ending.  🙂

Below are some pictures of the Jack-E-Up that I promised Phyllis.

Jack-E-Up in place

Jack-E-Up in place

The thing on the top of the propane tanks is my sway bar!

Jack-E-Up sitting in the Jack-E-Hand

Jack-E-Up sitting in the Jack-E-Hand

Top view of Jack-e-up with no jack in it

Top view of Jack-e-up with no jack in it, oh and see the sway bar down there? 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Highway Child And Halloween

  1. BuckeyePatti says:

    Your throwback on music is awesome, thanks for the memories 🙂 Hope those little green men don’t bother you!

    • Hi Patti,
      In the middle of the night last night Shiloh was on full alert, standing, with ears perked, staring at one window, then another, then the door. I know it had to be raccoons or something, but he has never done that before since we started living in WS. It went on for a good hour, jumping on and off the bed. Had me spooked yet again! I put the blinds up so he could see out, and the stars were just amazing, twinkling and winking at me. Just makes me wonder….about so much.

  2. Phyllis says:

    I was shivering with you on that ride back to camp. Did you see Isle at the laundromat?

    Thanks for the pictures.

    Happy Halloween

    • Who or what is Isle… She asked anxiously….?

      • Phyllis says:

        Darn spell check, it should have read Ilse. It is one of the funniest stories, in my opinion, off of RVSue’s blog. You know the one where she had met Ilse and then saw her in the laundromat but never looked up to see who was talking to her.

        Winterized the Casita today, the most difficult part was finding the antifreeze, and then returning to the store to buy a funnel. Looking forward to the day I can drive towards warm weather instead.

        Glad to read you are staying more days at the State Park. Have your camera video ready to take pictures of any green beings.

        Phyllis in Oklahoma

        • It’s a love/hate relationship for me with spell check. Can’t live with it, can’t live without it!
          Oh your Casita is going into hibernation! Just settling down for a long winters nap. Keep her nice and suggley.
          When I bought WS last October they had already done the winterizing so I left it that way till spring even though where I lived it rarely freezes. I didn’t want to take any chances.

  3. Ego says:

    My Steel Wheel Trucking email is highway.child. GLITTER! Spooky reading today. 👽

  4. Ooooh, spooky. Love it. Happy Halloween!

  5. I’m staying here near Roswell for the next couple of days. Got the payment situation figured out with the help of my neighbor. Wonder how spooky Halloween night will be? :-/

Leave a Reply

