Thanksgiving/Thanksliving

Im late with Thanksgiving, but not really. There is no way to be late with thankfulness and I’m thankful every day. It’s nice to have a day to celebrate thankfulness though, isn’t it? AND, no animals were harmed for me in my celebration of thankfulness. It’s wonderful to have so many vegan choices, and I’m thankful for that too. Turkeys are beautiful, sensitive birds and I wouldn’t want to harm one.

I celebrated Thanksgiving with my mom, and later in Mary’s hot tub. Yay! That was wonderful.

Walking with the dogs I took some pictures of the beautiful day in Mary’s neighborhood. Nice to experience these things at the end of November.

IMG_1170

IMG_1172

IMG_1171

IMG_1183

IMG_1181

IMG_1175

In Mary's yard...this huge palm tree.

In Mary’s yard…this huge palm tree.

IMG_1188

Beautiful autumn leaves everywhere, and flowers blooming too. Then on my way to my moms, field after field of artichokes.

artichokes

artichokes

Mary came home Saturday night and we had our own Thanksgiving on Sunday.

Today, Monday, December 1, I hit the road. I didn’t go far, only to Santa Nella, about 50 miles. I came here for a specific purpose though. I wanted to visit my aunts grave which is here in the San Joaquin Veterans Cemetery. I was able to do that today, and I’m thankful for that, too.

I’ll move on tomorrow, weather permitting. Possible big storms coming, and if they come my way, I’d rather be sitting still than driving.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thanksgiving/Thanksliving

  1. rambler2b says:

    Such a blessing to have you as a friend Micky. You are one of the things I am most grateful for. Such beautiful pictures! Like seeing my neighborhood for the first time! Hey, thanks for leaving all that great food. I had some the split pea soup and it was fantastic! I have enough to eat for the whole week! Thanks again for watching the house while I was away. Miss you already!
    PS I did a workout Crystal gave me and I did it to Mick Jagger music! His music is great for exercising with!

  2. Mary I’m the blessed one to have you for a friend! Thank you for letting me stay. I’m glad you like the soup!
    Lots of good beat to that music. :-). I used to have a mini trampoline and bounced/danced on it to Mick and the Stones too and that music kept me bouncing a long time and actually enjoying the heck out of it!

    Saw your Hawaii pictures on FB…WOW! Beautiful!

  3. Carol Jungwirth says:

    Micky, You are not late, you are on retired ladies time! I so enjoy hearing of your travels and thoughts. We drove to Oregon to visit relatives for Thanksgiving. I felt very blessed and thankful. Mac’s father was admitted to CHOMP while we were gone, on MW. The nurses, many of whom I worked with, or was there while they were having babies, have been his nurses. My family members comment on how good and kind the nurses are. Another reason I continue to be so thankful. Be safe on the road, have wonderful adventures and thanks for bringing me along on them. Blessings, Carol Jungwirth

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Hi Carol. Sorry to have missed you when I was in the home place, and So sorry to head about Mac’s father. I hope he’s recovering well. Yes, so good to know his care is in the hands of nurses you know and love…very reassuring and comforting. CHOMP is a good place, and I’m thankful to have been a part of it for those years.

  4. Cat Lady in Baton Rouge, LA says:

    Micky, saw this article https://gma.yahoo.com/rolling-stones-saxophonist-bobby-keys-dies-70-182031557–abc-news-music.html about the Rolling Stones saxophonist passing away and thought I’d send it to you.

    Take care.

    Cat Lady

    • Thanks Cat Lady. Yes, I heard. 😦 Bobby Keys played that lead sax for the Stones for more than 30 years. Maybe more than 40…and he was a really nice guy, to boot. He wasn’t a Stone, but he always toured with them, till this last tour in Australia. He was just too sick.
      Then yesterday Ian McLagan who often played with the Stones, passed away.

      Life is short and we never know when it’s going to be over. We need to do the things that are in our hearts to do, and we need to do them now.

Leave a Reply

