A Day In Ajo

We awake early, as usual, and I make my coffee and get back under the covers to drink it.  I love to start my day that way.  🙂

A dog walk is next, and then I get ready to have breakfast with Ed, a fellow blogger.  (His blog is called “The Peregrinating Graybeard” at edwardfrey.com.  And yes he does have a big ol’ gray beard.  🙂  You may have seen his comments here from time to time.  We talk over breakfast about the full timers life, our dogs, our RV’s, and the like.  I get to meet his girl Patches, and he gets to meet Joy and Shiloh who are waiting patiently in JR for me.  I also get a look at his Class C RV which compared to WS, is a mansion!

After we say so long, I head over to the post office to pick up my mail.  I have two boxes of it!

Ajo Post Office

Ajo Post Office

Getting a months worth of mail at once can be daunting.  Especially since I’ve retired, moved my residence, changed my vehicle insurance and health insurance.  There is always something to clear up with phone calls.  But this time it wasn’t so bad because I have Christmas in February!

Some Christmas cards and presents I just received in the mail!  Fun!

Some Christmas cards and presents I just received in the mail! Fun!

After taking care of all the business its lunchtime, and then Laura and I talk on the phone for a good long while, catching up since we were together at new years.

Next it’s time to wash JR at the do-it-yourself car wash.  JR is way overdue for a bath, even with all the recent rain.

I want to see the mine that Ajo is famous for, the New Cordelia Copper Mine.  I drive just over a mile to the museum, and there Louie, a retired school teacher talks a blue streak about the history of the mine.  He walks with another couple, their two kids, and myself through the place showing…explaining….answering my questions.  I’ve been hearing that “Ajo” means “garlic”, and I was surprised because there is no garlic around here.  Louie explained that “Ajo” is a corruption of another similar word that was the Native American’s word for “red.”  It turns out that they were mining this area long before the Spaniards came and mined copper and silver, but the Natives were mining for red rock to use as paint.  Thus….this became Ajo.

The Museum

The Museum

I love Native American pots and there was a nice display of them at the museum

I love Native American pots and there was a nice display of them at the museum

I leave the museum and go to the area where you can look into the open pit mine.  It’s huge….just a big whole in the earth.  There is some water at the bottom now.

Open pit copper mine at Ajo

Open pit copper mine at Ajo

After I finish at the mine, I head to Olsens Market again, and then home where we have a leisurely  dinner, and have another dog walk.  I go talk to Amy at the office here, because I see that I have run over the sewer cover at my site, and broken it.

Here are a few more pictures around Ajo.

The main business here these days seems to be selling Mexico insurance!

The main business here these days seems to be selling Mexico insurance!

This must be 'organ pipe' cactus

This must be ‘organ pipe’ cactus

A church in town

A church in town

At the dog park.  Shiloh is on the picnic table!

At the dog park. Shiloh is on the picnic table!

Joy finds a soft pillow...Shiloh's butt!

Joy finds a soft pillow…Shiloh’s butt!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Day In Ajo

  1. pmyv says:

    Hi….You were so close to us when you were in Joshua Tree 😞 So happy your adventures are going to well!!!

    How do you get your mail in Akko??? Just wondering? The old Postmaster coming out in me….When you established residency in N orS Dakota (can’t remember which one),,,did you change your vehicles as well as your DL etc…thinking you would have gotten a PO box there…Happy Trails, Peggy PS Doug sends his best 😊 >

    • Hi Peggy. Hi Doug. If I pass by you again should I give you guys a holler? Maybe we could meet for coffee if you and Doug are around?

      My residency is in SD. I get my mail through a forwarding service that caters to RV’ers called Americas Mailbox. My mail sits there till I request that they mail it to me. I received it by general delivery at the Ajo post office. I’ve been requesting it somewhere about once a month.
      SD makes it very easy. You have to spend one night in the state and have proof of that, to get a drivers license there. I also had JR ( Joy Ride, my truck,) and WS registered there. The registration alone saves me about $500 a year over CA right now. Then I also got my vehicle insurances through SD. Americas Mailbox coordinates it all and of course I pay them a yearly fee.

      It’s not exactly a po box though. I do have my own number at the Americas Mailbox though.

Leave a Reply

