Does Anybody Know What Time It is?

March 8, Sunday

Did we ‘spring ahead’ today? Does Arizona spring ahead? I think not, but I’m not sure. If they don’t then when I go back into California in a few days, there won’t be a time change. Actually I kinda LIKE the fact that I’m not sure what time it is. 🙂

I’m in Quartszite again! Reine, if you are reading this, I know I said I wouldn’t be back in Q this season, so I guess that’s a good lesson for me about ‘never say never’.
However, Q is a whole different world since the last time We were here. We are at the same BLM free camping area but it’s nearly empty….seems strange, but nice.

The plan was to stay at Mittry Lake for 10 days, the allowable limit. It was getting warmer, and as the temperature went up, suddenly there were mosquitoes….hoards of them, and they were hungry! There was no possibility of sitting outside in the evening, and by Saturday the heat made the only comfortable option sitting in the shade, with temperatures predicted to go up. Shirlee and Doug needed to leave today anyway, so Saturday evening was our last party time. We had dinner together, played a dice game, chatted, and then spent some time swatting mosquitoes that must have been waiting at the door when the dogs went out for a potty break. There had to be at least 25 of them that zoomed in fast!
Once we settled down again we watched ‘Red Dog’…thank you Marie for sending that movie to me. HIGHLY recommended, but have a box of Kleenex handy.

This morning we take our final walk with Aunt Shirlee and Uncle Doug, and then we all pack up our respective trailers. Joy and Shiloh are subdued and sad as we say our final good byes. We have some tentative plans to meet again in the not too distant future, but Joy and Shiloh live in the present moment…they only know we are saying good bye.

We drive less than 100 miles to Quartszite and set up our little camp beside a Palo Verde tree. We are all subdued actually, missing our friends. Drive safe Shirlee and Doug…hope to see you this summer!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Does Anybody Know What Time It is?

  1. Reine in Plano says:

    Last I heard, Arizona lives on Standard time all the time. Sorry bout the mosquitoes. I guess they need to eat too. I just don’t like it to be ME. Good reason to move. I can understand the “down” feeling when things don’t go like you planned. Get a good night’s sleep and spend tomorrow making plans for new adventures. That should cheer you up.

    • Hi Reine,
      I think the down feeling you sensed was mostly related to leaving friends and to see Joy and Shiloh so sad about leaving them.
      I did sleep well and the new day is dawning as I write this. Each day is a new beginning, and a fresh start. Life is good.

    • Thanks for your thoughts on the time change Reine. They are the same as mine, that Arizona doesn’t change. I think it might be the only state that doesn’t. What makes it even more confusing, depending on where you are in the state, as I remember, the Navajo reservation does do the time change, since it is in four states, and the Hopi reservation which is inside the Navajo Res, doesn’t do the time change. When traveling through that area, one might just as well forget about the clock! Which is probably a good thing to do anyway.

      • ED says:

        There are only two states that do not do the “time change thing”; Arizona (except for the Navajo Nation, which does observe daylight saving time) and Hawaii. For those that plan on going to Algodones, Mexico the businesses there operate on Arizona Time although they are in the Pacific Time Zone.

  2. Deborah says:

    Were the mosquitoes worse than Black Fly season here? You remember those little buggers, don’t you? They come around just as we are planting our gardens.

    • Hi Deb, you know I believe I left just before the black flies came to New Hampshire! I arrived in early September, left in mid May. I have never experienced the black flies. One thing that I guess you could say is good about mosquitoes is that they are around in the morning and then again starting in the evening, but you are fairly safe from them during the day. I’m thinking that is not true with the flies? I think the good thing about the flies is that they don’t last very long?
      I grew up with mosquitoes in Michigan, living with water all around me. But it seemed like at Mittry Lake they came suddenly and is such a huge amount…I don’t remember experiencing that before.

Leave a Reply

