Just So You Know…

Life on the road is…life.

Lest anyone think by reading my blog that everything is lollipops and roses, there are some things I want you to know.

Life is life with good and bad and ups and downs. Old or young, retired and free, or working, traveling or rooted, nothing is perfect.

I try to focus on the positive when I write here, because…well really, that’s how I’m feeling…mostly positive, mostly happy, and mostly peaceful. That’s not to say I don’t have my moments. There are worries and down times and moody times. I don’t feel good 24/7 and I make my share of mistakes…just so you know! And just so if you ever decide on this lifestyle you will know not to expect 100% bliss.

There is rarely a ‘perfect’ camping place, but there are quite a few near perfect ones. When it comes to an RV, I think they have yet to build the perfect one, but there are a lot of really nice ones to choose from. You can have a lot of sunshine and warm weather because you have wheels, but you will get some rain sooner or later.
And, you still have the same brain and the same thought processes and the same baggage, unless you actively work on changing those things….JUST SO YOU KNOW.

Just so you know….for me, life is good. I’m 100% glad that I’ve chosen this lifestyle and I hope to keep living it for quite awhile. I enjoy it more than I even thought I would! I love having time to think and write, meditate and pray. I’m grateful that I have the health and finances to experience this. So far I’m spending less living on the road than I was living in my home. That’s good because I’m making less money than I was while I was working.

I love the learning, the exploring, and the challenges! I’m having more fun on a day to day basis than I probably ever have had in my adult life, feeling happier, less stressed, and more peaceful.

Maybe a lot depends on expectations too. I focus on keeping things simple. I’m happy to conserve energy, and live in a semi-minimalist way. Things like the ocean, the mountains, trees, starry nights, sunsets and sunrises, and weeds in bloom are the beauty I seek. Birdsong is great music, as is the wind in the trees and the sound of surf on the shore. I like people but I’m also happy with my own company. The company of Joy and Shiloh is precious to me.

So I’m happy to say, after 7 months on the road, it’s not perfect, but for me it’s darn close, and my thought is to continue on as long as it’s working! Yay!

Just so you know…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Just So You Know…

  1. Laura says:

    This is a really wonderful post Micky. So much of it sums up life in general, not just life on the road. Like you, I think a real key minimizing, and then finding joy in simple things…that way, joy is all around you, all the time.
    hugs
    Laura

  2. Marcia GB in MA says:

    A very realistic assessment of RV living and being on the road with eyes wide open. Wherever we go, there we are. Why not open ourselves to the joy and beauty in everyday life, no matter how and where we are living it? It’s a great reminder of how precious our lives are in every moment. Blessings on the journey πŸ™‚

    • Hi Marcia. Yes, no matter what lifestyle we are living, we can be open to beauty and joy. And, there will be ups and downs. I have a tendency to see the world through rose colored glasses and I think I might reflect that here. It’s not a bad thing, but I did want to point out there is always good and bad. πŸ™‚

  3. Thanks Laura, and that’s so true, about joy being all around you all the time, when you find it in simple things. Beauty and joy…they are in so many places when the heart is open.

  4. Wow! 7 months already….time sure does fly – glad u are enjoying all aspects of your new life style. It was good to read your honest assessment – I think most folks like to read the good, bad and ugly of RV living and travel. I know I do….cheers from Australia

    • Yes, people want the facts, I’m sure. Reality…it’s so…real. πŸ™‚
      Don’t know if you read the last couple of blogs Leslie, but seems we’ve been on an Australian movie kick. Crocodile Dundee part 1 and 2 and then the movie “Red Dog”..all excellent!

  5. Mo says:

    Beautifully written, Mick πŸ’—

  6. minicooper10 says:

    A fair and helpful post, indeed. My fantasy is that, if I were on the road, I could distance myself from the frightening international news that I hear about every day and see on my Yahoo page. I have decided not the click on any story containing negativity or fear even if it means I am not as informed as my friends. What degree do you get involved in our national and international news? Do you read online news? Newspapers? It is said that frightened people are easier to control and easier to sell products to. Jeez, what do you think about when you view another beautiful location?

    • I sometimes see the news on line minicooper10, and sometimes learn it by discussing it with others.
      I haven’t been making a point of paying a lot of attention. The world is a darn mess. It was 50 years ago, and it was 500 years ago, etc. the media can’t be trusted to tell the truth about much of anything. My thought is that peace begins on my plate. That’s one of the reasons I’m vegan. Violence towards animals begets violence towards other humans. Until we stop slaughtering and disrespecting animals we will be a world at war. You may think that sounds quaint or naive. I would direct you to the book “The World Peace Diet”. Dr Will Tuttle lays it all out in that amazing book. I’m looking forward to hearing him speak in Monterey, CA on March 17.

  7. Reine in Plano says:

    Live on the road is…life. But then so is life when you’re not on the road. We have a house that we live in most of the time and usually spend between 75 and 100 nights on the road. But we have great days – new grand girl’s birth – and not so great days – 94 year old mom broke her arm in a car wreck, needed surgery and has had to live with us for the past month while it heals enough for her to be on her own again. Some stuff you can plan for and some times you just roll with the punches. But if you wake up breathing in the morning, you are living. And I find that delightful.

    • Yes Reine, I’m always happy when I wake up breathing too. Like Keith Richards says when he’s introduced at a Stones concert…’I’m happy to be here! I’m happy to be anywhere!’

      You’ve got stuff coming at you from all directions with the new grand baby and taking care of the needs of your mom. Also take care of you, Reine.

  8. Elinor Hein says:

    Well Mickey,it all sounds pretty good. Just thinking about all the routine stuff you are saddled with at home;the daily grind and to do lists etc. I would say you’ve got it goin on girl!

    • Hi Elinor! Yes there is still routine stuff, but it’s less, and some is different, due to minimizing and lifestyle change. I still do dishes, though many less of them. I still make the bed and clean, but cleaning a 17 foot home is simpler than most. :-). But there are other things, like not having a washer and dryer, and having to dump the tanks, hooking up and unhooking, checking tire pressure and battery fluid, that are different, and some of the challenges that make life interesting.

Leave a Reply

