Boulders On The Path

But this time it’s not about me, it’s about my mom. She has been doing pretty well physically for someone 90 years of age. A couple of weeks ago she went to the ER for chest pain, but it seemed to be related to indigestion instead. Since then she seemed generally improved, until Friday. Saturday she went to the ER again where more tests were done, with more yet to come, but that day the ER doctor took me aside and began trying to prepare me for some possible bad news that he suspects.

So all my piss and vinegar concerning my questionable EKG is…not gone…but running in the background now, as my mind spins off in other directions, with other concerns.

I’ll be staying in this general area for awhile now…no idea exactly how long or what happens next.

Saturday was an emotional roller coaster day, starting at 4 something in the morning when I got the call that an ambulance was coming for my mom, until midnight when I got back from a beautiful celebration of gift opening for the bride and groom ( just back from their honeymoon), combined with celebrating mothers day. The party was with Mandy’s immediate family. The ‘youngsters’ made a yummy dinner for the moms, and for Mandy’s dad. Sharon (Mandy’s mom) and I walked through her beautiful gardens, sat in front of a roaring fire sipping wine, talking, and gazing at the expanse of ocean beyond. Later we all danced and laughed and Jason and Mandy opened their remaining wedding gifts…so much fun to watch.

Meanwhile, last night (Sunday), Laura and Joel (Joel Pole) along with many Stones friends I’ve met over the years, were in San Diego to see Mick and the boys. This will be the first tour I’ve missed in many a year, but when the ticket buying was going on I just had a feeling to hold off this time. I’m glad I paid attention because I need to Be Here Now. Besides in the 50 years since I saw my first Stones concert on November 26, 1965, I’ve seen them perform nearly 40 times. So last night I was here watching a concert from 9 years ago on CD. If my heart skipped any beats, it was for that man…Thee Man…bouncing around up on stage.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Boulders On The Path

  1. Pam says:

    Oh Mick so sorry to hear about your mom. Please give her a hug from me. These times are hard but I know you will make the right decision. Just don’t forget about your health.

  2. Hi Pam, yes hard. I know you’ve been through it…..
    Thanks for your kind words.

  3. Patty says:

    There is a reason you are where you are right now and not having to hurry back from many miles away. Enjoy and treasure your time together! Thinking of you xxoo

    • Hi Patty, thanks for your encouragement. Third time to ER yesterday in about 2 weeks and they admitted her. Treating her for pneumonia right now but admitted to Terrace West Dr Bradley…..

  4. Reine in Plano says:

    So sorry to hear your mom is having issues. We will pray for both of you. And I agree with Patty. Better you are delayed where you are than having to hurry back from many miles away.

  5. Hi Reine. Yes I have to say I often thought about that possibility in my travels…receiving a call in the night and having to rush back from some distant place. Being so close when it happened was a huge blessing. Thank you for your prayers.

  6. ED says:

    You are experiencing the two primary reasons that RVers ‘come off the road’ – your health or the health of someone else. I hope everything works out and you can get away again.

  7. Elinor says:

    The problem,as I see it,is that we make plans and fit them into a 24 hour box or a week box and life refuses to be restrained. It just keeps flowing,no barriers can keep it in check. I am certain that you are coping but it sure puts a kink in your itinerary. I am sorry that this is happening to you and your Mom.

  8. Hi Elinor. Yes, due to our inability to see the future, planning can be futile. Or not. i guess there are times for planning and times when life makes plans for us.

  9. Carmen Moore says:

    This is a difficult time for you, dear friend! If you ever need to phone us, please do! We are up usually until about 1:00a.m. So sorry for you having to go through this!!

  10. Thanks for your kind words Carmen. There are a lot of people here that are very supportive of me and for that I am very thankful..

  11. Carmen Moore says:

    My words are heart-felt, Micky! You are my sister in so many ways. How is your mom now?

  12. Hi Carmen. Thank you for your thought. My mom is slipping away.

Leave a Reply

