Winding Up Washington

From Quincy we roll on to Spangle, Washington. Isn’t that a great name for a town? So patriotic, in a ‘Star Spangled Banner’ sort of way.

You may remember I was in Spangle a little over a year ago, visiting my old friend and co-worker, Marsha. She took early retirement from nursing and went back near her family home. Long story short, she started a dog-care business and it has become very successful…she’s booked up months in advance. And no wonder, everything is clean as a whistle, the dogs get to frolic in the green grass of her back yard, and everyone comes in the house for some special love…not all at once though! Marsha will take care of your dog for a day, a week or a month, plus she has two of her own fur kids.

This is 11 month old Tearian.  I probably spelled his name wrong.

This is 11 month old Tearian. I probably spelled his name wrong.

And this is Alice!

And this is Alice!

Cuddle time

Cuddle time

Add with Joy and Shiloh added into the mix, we had a yapping good time!

Back to Spangle, with a population of 225. No traffic lights in town, but there is a grocery store…well, sortof.

IMG_4102

It’s part of the gas station. There is a group of grain storage silos, and most of the rest is fields…amber waves of grain…as the song goes. All harvested now.

Marsha's field

Marsha’s field

My view

My view

And fields next to the grocery store.

And fields next to the grocery store.

Wheat, barley and lentil crops are common.

We have been in Washington since July 29, and now it’s time to move on.
September 18 we pack up, say good-by to all the pupsters, hugs to Marsha, and off we go. It’s only 15 miles to Spokane, and another 10 or 15 to….

Took this picture as I was driving by.

Took this picture as I was driving by.

Idaho!

We are now in a place called Osburn, and though I’ve been noticing fall color here and there for quite some time, the recent cool weather with nights in the low 40’s is causing some real color popping.

Just about outside my door...

Just about outside my door…

I love when the leaves carpet the ground in red and gold.

I love when the leaves carpet the ground in red and gold.

A golden tree peaking through the pines.

A golden tree peaking through the pines.

We will head south now, slowly, and I hope to be able to share lots more autumn glory with you as we go!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winding Up Washington

  1. Deborah White says:

    If you get south to Texas I’ll fly up and meet you! I’ve never been there. If you drive into Mexico you can park in my gated parking area:-)

    Love reading what you’re up to! Send some “fall” this way!:-)
    Hugs!

    • Hi Deb!
      I’ve been reading about…and listening to…your music ‘next door’ on FB. Omg, that is just insane…or enough to drive you insane anyway! :-)))

      Texas…hey we could have a GG with Ego! Well, Texas is possible but not probable for this year, but who knows. I did go last year, all the way over to the south east part, and did get to see Ego and her husband, but man, that is a big state with a lot of empty space!

      Thanks for the invite to your gated parking area. Two things hinder me there. First the dogs. It’s my understanding I can’t legally bring them across the boarder. And then there is the idea of driving through Mexico with all my worldly goods in tow. Not that I have many worldly goods…but I don’t want to lose them. It makes me nervous. I know others do it all the time with no problems, so I think I’m a whimp. :-/

      I’m glad you are along for the ride with me! I’m enjoying those pictures you post on FB. The colors and architecture are just fantastic!

Leave a Reply

