What I Did For Easter

Short answer:  Nothing.

You haven’t heard from me for awhile because I’ve been sick.  I’m recovering now, but it feels like this recovery will be slow.

What IS this?…I asked myself many times.  My best guess at this point is that I have Valley Fever.  When that diagnosis occurred to me I looked it up on line and it totally fits, with time frames and symptoms.

Easter was the worst day, so all I did was lie in bed, as I did the day before and yesterday too.

I have two sweet Golden nurses that don’t want to leave my side.

IMG_6011

They literally don’t want to go out except when necessity calls.

Joy and Shiloh have been a great comfort through this!

IMG_6017

IMG_6018

Shiloh’s version of holding my hand.

I’ve extended my stay here at the horse camp to the full 14 days, so I should leave Friday instead of today.  The campground of 30 sites is basically empty, except for me.

Just wanted to let you know, I’m still kickin’.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to What I Did For Easter

  1. Pam says:

    Awww so sorry to here this Mick. You’ve got two wonderful nurses with you to keep you comfy. Feel better soon !

  2. Patty says:

    Glad to hear you are a bit better- keep it up!! xxoo

  3. Ego.... says:

    I was going to write you today. Be well, thinking of you.

  4. Velda says:

    If you really think you have valley fever, you should be checked by a Dr who can test for it. It can result in pneumonia and even meningitis, though most recover within a few weeks without those issues. Here in California, esp in southern areas there have been increased cases they believe due to the drought allowing more dust to move around. Take care. Hope you feel better soon. Im a CA girl since birth, grew up in the San Joaquin Valley. Have been following you a while, enjoy your posts.

    • Hi Velda,
      I remember you, and from Sues blog too. 😀
      I looked it up on Vally Fever Center For Excellence. It says ‘most patients with VF recover with no treatment and will have life long immunity.’ Then it goes on to talk about more severe cases and dissemination. I don’t THINK this was what would be considered ‘severe’. I hope to God it doesn’t ‘disseminate’, but I’m not in any of their risk factors for that…and that apparently happens when it’s severe.
      If I continue to feel better I’ll leave it alone. Hopefully it’s the flu.
      Thank you for caring!

  5. Pat says:

    Glad you feel better. Your nurses must take good care of you, lol.

    Pat

  6. Maureen O'Connor says:

    Valley Fever? Geez. You need to see a doctor! I hope you’re feeling better today.

    • Hi Maureen. But see I looked at the info at VF Center For Excellence and mentioned what I found in the answer above to Velda. I’m starting to get better so as long as that continues, I’ll figure this is not a severe case. IF it really is VF.
      Thanks for your good wishes!

      • Maureen O'Connor says:

        Having spent so many years working in a hospital, as you know, you only see the worst cases. I think that colors my reaction. I remember valley fever patients. BTW, did you get a flu shot this year?

  7. Eileen says:

    So sorry to hear you’ve been sick. Hope you feel better real soon!

  8. marianblum says:

    How sweet that Joy and Shiloh are nursing you back to health! Sammy does the same with his paw although usually he adds a little scratching movement to encourage me to rub him. We heal each other! Sending love and healing energy your way.

  9. Laura says:

    Take care Micky – so sorry to hear you’ve been so ill! I’m glad though that Shiloh love is holding your hand 🙂 hugs and love, L

  10. Gail from Buckeye AZ says:

    Hope your feeling better real soon!

  11. Sharron says:

    So sorry to hear you have been sick! Guess you can run but you can’t hide from those Arizona dust storms! Take care and don’t let it get out of control.

    • Thanks for your good wishes Sharron. Yes and I never think about staying out of the wind…well it’s about impossible anyway. I’m pointing an accusing finger at the windy day of March 11… The day after I met RVSue. In her blog she mentioned considering staying put because of not wanting to drive in the heavy wind that was forecast. She ended up leaving and being fine.
      The wind knocked down the Clam that day…even made a rip. In that same wind I took it all the way down, sewed the rip, and put it away, all in no particular hurry. Plus being in and out the rest of the day…I breathed in a lot of dust. Ugh.

  12. Reine in Plano says:

    Check with the BLM folks. If you’ve been sick they will probably allow you to extend your stay for a few days to recuperate. I’ve heard that in “emergency” situations they can be flexible.
    Prayers being said for your health.

    • Thanks for your prayers Reine, I appreciate it.
      Yes, if I still feel the need to stay here after Friday I will ask. It would be silly for them to say no really, since we are the only campers in the horse camp of 30 large campsites right now.
      I was supposed to leave today, and so glad I changed that not only for health reasons, but today it rained, selected and snowed all morning…then, living here looking out the window opposit me, a whole herd of Elk loaped by! Must have been at least 12-15! Beautiful!

  13. Mary says:

    Sorry to hear you are not feeling well. I wish you a speedy recovery!!!

  14. Marcia GB in MA says:

    Sorry you are sick. You have the best nurses in the world! Sending healing thoughts.

  15. So glad you are on the mend! Having the pups there must really be a big help. Hope you are up around soon. Get and stay well! We will keep checking on you!

  16. Andrea in Glendale says:

    Mick, no need to reply, but want you to know we’re all in your corner and want you to get the rest you should have. Your beautiful pups are the best nurses you could want. Take care.

    • Thank you Andrea, I appreciate your kindness. I am doing better. Trying to limit how much I do each day but I just had to get to the dog park once more before we leave, so we did that today. So fun to see them playing and happy!

  17. Ronnie says:

    Aw man….so cramping your camping! Can you get better nurses though? Sweet. Ok, CHOMP? Be well quickly. I’m enjoying your travels. When you’re in Palm Springs get in touch!

  18. Hi Ronnie, yep good nurses are hard to find! Except we worked with a lot of them at CHOMP didn’t we?
    Won’t be getting down into your corner this time around, but it sure would be nice to see you sometime.
    I’m glad you enjoy the blog cuz I enjoy having you along!

  19. I’m catching up. Seems life in the last few weeks has gotten in the way of staying current with you. Congrats on your new followers, and sure hope this finds you on the mend!

  20. Thank you Cindy, and yes, I am mending! Feeling much better. I hope the busieness you have been experiencing is all for the good!

Leave a Reply

