KOA To The Rescue….Again

Sunday, August 14 we leave the KOA in Kamiah, Idaho.

IMG_9355

Above and below are some of the friends we met in Kamiah, on our daily walks.

IMG_9360

We move on only about 45 miles to a COE (Core of Engineers) park called Dent Acres.  I’ve heard good things about this park and am looking forward to spending time here….8 nights in fact, at $10 a night with my Senior Pass.  This includes full hookups, covered picnic table, fire pit, and showers.

It’s a long and winding road, up hill and down, that leads to my campsite.  Top speed here is 35 miles per hour and this last 20 miles is not a drive I enjoy.

When we arrive at Dent Acres the temperature is near 100 degrees and there is almost no shade at our site.  Plus, another problem seems to be bees and hornets.  We end up moving to another site, attempting to get some shade, but there still isn’t much, at least not where and when we need it, and there is no decrease in the bees.

Joy and Shiloh tend to snap at bugs, so loads of bees are a big problem for us.  It turns into a three ring circus as they snap and I swat and slap, and we get more crabby and cranky in the 100 degree heat.  We go inside to sit in the air conditioning, and I raise the Clam (6×6 ft screen house). Other than our early morning and our evening walks, we are more or less held prisoner in WS and the Clam by heat and bees.  Joy ends up getting stung.  We are not happy campers.  I have no phone or internet service.  I read and the kids sleep.

IMG_9393

Dent Prison.  Sorry, I told you I get cranky in the heat.

I’m sure this is a lovely park at a different time.  The camp host couple are wonderful.

IMG_9384

Here is the reservoir, and the Dent Bridge, as seen from the campground.

I cut my 8 days to 3 days, get a refund for the other 5 days, and off we go.

IMG_9400

We are about to cross Dent Bridge as we leave.

IMG_9405

View of the Clearwater River, as we go back down the long and winding road.

We  are heading in the direction of Grand Coulee Dam.  In Lewiston, ID we stop at the Petco for dog food, and oh my gosh there is an AT&T signal….first I’ve seen since Missoula, plus I haven’t had internet since Kamiah.  I buy chewies for Joy and Shiloh and they lie on the grass in the shade by the Petco parking lot, while I sit on the curb catching up on some on line business.

When we leave Lewiston it’s over 90 degrees and I’m not sure where I’m going.  After awhile and asking around, I find myself near Starbuck, Washington, at the KOA at Lyons Ferry Marina  on the Snake River.  I ask if they have a spot in the shade for us….and it just so happens they do!  It’s only available for 2 nights, but I take it.  I can’t seem to get away from the heat, but having good shade and green grass for J&S to lie on helps.  I spend literally hours on line (good free wifi here!) trying to figure out where to go next, but nothing is making me happy.  (Our reservations near the dam start on August 23.)

IMG_9421

This was taken this morning.  In the afternoon the shade is even better.

The sun sets and we step outside….there is a breeze.  Ok, it feels like the furnace blower, but hey, it’s a breeze.  A few minutes later the lady from the KOA office comes to see me.  “We had a cancelation” she tells me.  “You can stay in this spot until you need to leave on the 23rd if you like.  I put this site on hold for you.  Just go to the office when they open in the morning and let them know.”

That’s good news to this crabby, cranky old lady!  With my KOA 10% discount it’s about $32  a night here….not bad for KOA.

IMG_9424

Train trestle over the Snake River, as viewed from our site, with a train on it, no less!

IMG_9418

Bridge over the Snake River.  Can’t see this from our site, but when we walk around the marina it comes into view.  I didn’t know the Snake River was this big! (wide).

Golden dogs in the golden grasses.

Right now there is almost no one here at this campground, but apparently it will fill up with boaters on the week end.  We will be mostly laying low, trying to keep cool.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to KOA To The Rescue….Again

  1. Laura says:

    Loved the visual of the three-ring circus – bees buzzing, dogs snapping, Micky slapping – hahahahahaha!

    Glad you’ve been able to move on to shadier environs, stay cool honey
    Laura

    • Laura, I am so not cool! 😂😂. Actually it’s very cool when we go into the ac, just would rather not sit closed in there for hours when possible. My thermometer is reading 94 in the shade right now though, so we will be heading in soon!

  2. judilyn says:

    The KOA campgrounds get a lot of bad press for being overpriced, but they DO seem to provide a bit extra for that extra cost. We have enjoyed our stays there.

    Virtual hugs,

    Judie

    • Hi Judy. Some really seem to gouge when they are near an attraction too…but so do most campgrounds I guess. This one is pretty simple, except it has the marina and a restaurant, so I think the price is pretty decent. The offering of grass and shade and a nice view are the most important things to me right now. And of course electricity…for my ac! 😀

  3. Annie in Oregon says:

    Things have a way of working out don’t they.?! Glad you and the doggies have a comfy place to stay for now. Relax and enjoy😃

  4. Kitty says:

    I’ve come to really appreciate KOAs, too, and I think most of them have worked hard to improve their image over the last decade or two. My sister and I are tenters, so the price is often comparable to state parks or even the Federal sites that charge a reservation fee, and the showers, store and dishwashing stations are worth a few extra bucks. We have two Colorado favorites from our trip last year – Ouray and Cripple Creek (at 10,000 ft, “The Highest KOA in the World”, lol, and I have the sweatshirt to prove it) – and we stayed at one in the middle of Miles City, MT on our mad dash from Glacier NP to northern Minnesota this year. I think they are especially nice, and inexpensive, when you find one to break up a long road trip through the plains. I’m not sure what this says about North Dakota, but there is exactly one KOA in the entire state (Bismarck).

    I’ve also stayed in the KOA Kabins, which are a good option when surrounding motel rooms are twice the the price, but I know you carry your cabin with you. I had a very nice Kabin near Duluth on my way home this year, and I had another reserved in St Ignace, just north of The Bridge, but the deer/moose who ran into my rental car (yes, you read that right) somewhere west of Marquette canceled that stay. That experience could have been so much worse that I have to just chalk it up to another adventure on the road.

    I think we were probably within 50 miles of each other in western Montana or Idaho back in July, and I kept thinking it would be great to meet (we even have a friend for your pups), but this was a “how many national parks, etc., can you see in a ten day trip from Las Vegas to Minnesota” kind of thing, and we were ALWAYS behind schedule. We are making a list of places to go and stay for a few days, and you have have given me many more possibilities. (You also inspired me to set up my own blog last year, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Aunts, but I haven’t gotten beyond the title. Sheesh.)

    Stay safe and as cool as possible. It has been hot and very humid here in MI, too, not fun. Hugs for you and the kids.

    • Hi Kitty! So nice to hear from you. Wow you have been on the road a lot, and sounds like you have been having a great time….well, except for the deer/moose situation. Yikes, now that is scary!

      As for KOA yes, I’m gaining a new perspective on them. Of course they are all a bit different, but I’m feeling real good about these last two. I stayed in a KOA Kamping Kabin once too, long long ago. 25 years? Anyway, it way just fine.

      I’m glad this blog gives you inspiration. 😊 And it’s neat that you got your blog started…I guess now all you need to do is write it. 😉 I continue to surprise myself in that I enjoy writing mine so much and always seem to have something I want to share. It’s been fun.

      I really would like to get to Michigan one of these years. I lived there from the time I was 5 till I was 37 or there abouts. Then a very brief stint about 10 years ago that didn’t work out, but there is so much beauty there I’d like to see….or see again.

      Hopefully we will meet up one of these times!

Leave a comment