Follow The Weather?

It can be harder than you might think!  We are extending our stay here at Meteor Crater RV Park a little longer, because the area I’ll be heading towards has had a lot of ‘winter mix’ forecast and that doesn’t sound like something I want to tow WS in.  Here we’ve had a lot of big winds, some rain…and some of the rain was really ice.

Theres no rush though!  That’s one of the joys of this life….and we have this view:

FullSizeRender

These are the snow covered SanFrancisco Peaks at Flagstaff, about 40 miles northwest of us.  These mountains are sacred to all the nearby Native American Tribes….and well they should be….to anyone who gazes on them or wanders in them.

Here they are a bit closer, as I drive towards them to visit Sunset Crater and Wupatki Ruins.

FullSizeRender

Yes, I visited these places early in my adventures, but I’m happy to see them again.

From the info given at the visitor center:

“Erupting sometime between 1040 and 1100 Sunset Crater is the most recent in a six million year history of volcanic activity in the Flagstaff area.”  There are more than 600 hills and mountains  in this volcanic field.  Sunset Crater is the largest.

IMG_1922

And here it is.

IMG_1906

This is how much of the nearby landscape looks, covered with cinders.

Farther on we come to some of the most impressive ‘ancient ruins’ I’ve seen yet.

IMG_3023

This is called the Wukoki Pueblo.  All alone out here in the desert, this place blows me away.  People built this and lived here about 800 years ago.  I just stand in awe thinking about what it was like, and about the strength, ingenuity, determination and the belief system of people who would make a life here, and after making their homes from the rock, then making their bowls from the mud and their baskets and shoes from the plants.  Then they farmed this, and grew their corn, beans and squash.

IMG_3027

Not a little bit of work.

FullSizeRender

Through a window.

Then behind one of the visitor centers is Wupatki ruins.

FullSizeRender

This was a community center that had about 100 rooms they say, and a ball court too.  I don’t suppose they had that nice hand rail in the foreground though.

FullSizeRender

Closer.

There are more remains of homes of the Old Ones to see, and then the loop you have been driving on leads back to Hwy 89.  If you turn right you go to Cameron and the Cameron Trading Post there on the Navajo Reservation.  I turn left however, and drive the 60-65 miles back to my little home.  Even though it’s small with wheels, it has running water, light bulbs, heat and air conditioning.  Food and clothing and blankets, bowls and baskets and shoes are so easy for me to come by…life for me is so different than it was for these people who lived in these very homes…people who laughed and cried, loved, had worries and pains, wants and needs.  It’s a reminder not to take for granted the ease with which I live.

[~] [~] [~] [~]

Seems like a couple of nice days coming up, and so I’m planning another adventure to a place I haven’t been to in 25+ years!  I’m excited!

More about that next time!

FullSizeRender

This his little guy (girl?) was in the Sunset Crater Visitor Center parking lot.  Dig those ears!  It’s called Abert’s squirrel.

PS    Sorry about the blurry zoom!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Follow The Weather?

  1. Laura says:

    Eek! A squirrel!
    🙂

  2. Leslie says:

    How beautifully written. Thank you for it.

  3. Alice says:

    love your blog, great pictures, thank you . How are your pups with squirrels? Mine would be crazy.

    • Hi Alice, thank you!

      Oh squirrels…yes they go crazy. Not so much Joy anymore, but Shiloh… he was watching out the window while I took this picture. By the time I got the dogs out of the truck the squirrel was long gone but Shiloh was on high alert the whole time we went for a walk!

  4. Michael says:

    You did an interesting thing here, relating your views of what you were seeing and feeling to how we live today. Liked it, like even more how it stirred my thoughts of my life and the ancient ones struggle. We are truly blessed to live in this time as they were to live in theirs. Thank you

    • Hi Michael. Yes, they certainly had their advantages and blessings too, didn’t they? If they could have seen ahead to the way we live now, would they have wanted this life? I highly doubt it!

  5. Gerri & Mike says:

    You feel just like I do about these ancient people. I recall teaching about many of these ruins and homes and I just stood amazed. I told many classes that one day I wanted to stand in the presence of these homes. The skill it must have taken and what they knew innately to make it all work. I would kid my students and say…”just think, they did all of this without a tech degree.” Thanks so much for sharing and one day I will get to view some of these magnificent ruins.
    I also can’t imagine driving down the road with those mountains in front of me. How beautiful!!
    Great post!!!

  6. rambler2b says:

    Magnificent post Micky. Wonderful pictures. Fascinating to contemplate on the life of the old ones and the incredible chalenges they must have had. Funny how we have gained so much, but probably lost much more. They must have been remarkable people to carve out a life in such a place. Thanks so much for your post and pics!

    • Thank you Mary. ‘We have gained so much but probably lost much more’. Yes and what we have lost… could we ever get it back? It must be buried back there in the genes and DNA of some.

  7. dawnkinster says:

    I always like when I visit places like this and am lucky enough thst it’s not crowdwd. Then I can take my time and really try to feel what it was like to live in that time.

    • I agree Dawn. Both times I’ve been here I’ve wished for a little alone time but there have always been a few others present, coming and going. ( At Wukoki I mean. There are always more people at the area behind the visitor center. )
      But the same feeling must settle on all who visit because there is always a hush and a sense of awe among others I see here.
      I’ve visited in September and March now and I think those are less than prime tourist times.

  8. What a great post, Micky!! Beautiful pics and the perfect words to go with them. Just sitting here looking at your pictures I seem to feel the presence of the old ones…how I wish I could be there in person. Maybe one day soon! Thank you so much for writing about your experiences.
    I do have a question for you…when I got back to Texas and put my awning out, it was wet & there is mold on it…do you have a suggestion as to what to clean it with? I am anxious to get on the road in a couple of weeks. Be safe, my friend!

    • Pat I haven’t had the mold problem yet so I can’t recommend anything first hand. I googled it though and apparently there is an rv awning cleaner on the market. Also people use Tilex… spray it on, roll up the awning for 15 min, open it and spray it off with the hose. Scrub spots with a soft brush if they didn’t come off. Some even use bleach. I don’t want to tell you to use any of that though cuz I don’t know what it might do to your awning. Except the one that’s made special for awnings. Gosh that SHOULD be ok

      Glad you will soon be on the road!

    • Hi Pat, I replied once and it didn’t seem to go through. If it does, I apologize for answering twice :-))
      I have not had a problem with mold on the awning yet so I Googled it and apparently there is a product out there for cleaning them. Also some people use Tilex and some even use bleach mixed with water and dish soap. I don’t want to recommend any of that since I never tried it. Don’t want anything to happen to your awning. But if you Google that question maybe you will find something you feel ok with.
      Glad to hear you will be on the road soon!

  9. Mush says:

    Just about caught up with where you are now (I started at the beginning of you journey 🤗). Thought I would mention another great ruins site (loved sunset crater btw) Hovenweep National Monument has been one of my all time favorites. You can see my blog post from the epic culinary journey back in 2009 here:
    http://theculinarygypsy.blogspot.com/2009/05/day-4-may-28-2009.html

    • Thanks for the heads up Mush! I’m in the Hovenweep area now and that is one of the places I was thinking about going this week! It’s high on my list besides Mesa Verde so I’m pretty sure I’ll get there. Just been so cold! 19 degrees as I write this at 8:30am!
      Will check out the blog.

      • Mush says:

        Totally LOVED Mesa Verde too! If you can do it around daybreak you may be blessed with numerous animal sightings😻

        • I found your blog where you wrote about Hovenweep and Mesa Verde. The above link didn’t work for me though.
          We went to Mesa Verde today, it’s a really special place for me. Saw more this time than last time. Didn’t get there at daybreak though. Maybe someday I’ll camp there.

Leave a Reply

