North Dakota Friends

First I just want to say thank you for the caring comments I received after the last post.  I appreciate your support, prayers and kindness.  We are doing well, and couldn’t be in a better place than here on the farm with Colleen and Fred.  Just a note, I met Colleen and Fred in Arozona at Caballo Loco Ranch, and they have been kind and helpful from Day One.  These are GOOD people.  Folks don’t get much better.

We blew in here with the big winds over a week ago now, and had no trouble finding the place due to this….

FullSizeRender

welcome sign out by the mailbox.

We are waaay up here in….

IMG_3687

where the scenery is often….

IMG_3737like this….

FullSizeRenderand this.  It’s wide open spaces everywhere you look.

Fred and Colleen have a farm/ranch up here, and this property has been in Fred’s family for 75 years.  Spring is a busy time, but they have invited me here to spend time together, show me the sights, and so I can have some time to…get my head together.

IMG_3712

Wandering Spirit is parked around back, where we are living in the house, but WS is just steps from the door.

IMG_3778View from the front.

IMG_2151Sunrise out my window.

IMG_3759There have been fences to repair. (Daisy and Fred.)

IMG_3793And the food garden to plow.

IMG_3787Cows to care for.

IMG_3791Joy and Shiloh have a healthy respect for the turkeys.  They have adapted well to being farm dogs!

IMG_3779The windmill.

IMG_3697The Cannonball river runs through the property.  Here it is at sunset.

Fred and Colleen helped me with some target practice.

IMG_3746

IMG_3745Not bad, eh?

We saw the Bad Lands at Theodore Roosevelt National Park.

IMG_3764Colleen and I.

IMG_3770Wild Horses…also at TRNP.

And the Missouri River near Fort Abraham Lincoln State Park.

FullSizeRender

During this time I’ve been getting my balance back, so to speak, and trying to make decisions.  I’ve kept busy while I think, with all of the above, and I’ve washed and waxed WS and JR (Colleen helped).  I’ve taken everything out of WS including the bed, and cleaned.  Fred put a new TV support up for me, because the last one broke.

We’ve had some Margaritas, watched some movies, I’ve gotten my NCIS fix, and we’ve done lots of visiting. The days have been full!  As far as I know I’m going to continue with my previous plans and go on to Michigan.  I’m losing some of the anxiety and fearfulness that had been gripping me for awhile there.  I’ll try to take one day at a time, as much as possible, and keep listening to my heart.

Joy is hanging in there.  Her legs are weak, but so far she is managing, and enjoying her life.  She has a strong spirit.

IMG_2148Another day begins.  I am thankful for each one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to North Dakota Friends

  1. Gerri & Mike says:

    What wonderful friends!! A perfect place to just “be.” This is certainly a beautiful part of our awesome country!!
    So glad Joy is doing well and she and Shiloh have enjoyed farm life!! Good for them!!
    Safe travels my friend!!

  2. Reine in Plano when not camping says:

    I wonder if what you’re really looking for is a summer version of Caballo Loco Ranch. Somewhere you could lease a space and get to know the folks that would be a “summer home base” for roaming kinda like CLR is for the winter. I’m glad the reflection time in a safe place has helped to calm your spirit.
    Yep, we went to Bluebonnet with all 163 other trailers. Had a good time visiting with old friends and making new ones but we were REALLY ready to get off to ourselves in state parks after the time spent around a crowd.
    Interesting that you’re in ND and went to Teddy Roosevelt NP. That’s one of our destinations in July.

    • Reine we looked at the Cottonwood Campground in the South Unit of TRNP and it’s really nice! I think you will like it. A lot of good sized sites with some privacy. And a lot of pull-thru spaces…something I’m always watching for. 🙂

      Glad you enjoyed your recent adventures!

      The thing is, there is still so much I’d like to see out there! But when fear and anxiety sets in, it tends to spread. My worries about Joy and our country, became also worries about my health, driving, etc, and fear (worry) is paralyzing…makes me want to stop in my tracks and curl up in a ball. And then my concerns for Joy are not just fear, but a desire to make sure she is as comfortable as possible, and that might call for lifestyle changes….I just don’t know. Just have to see where this road leads.

  3. Patty says:

    Such good news Micky! Refreshing your spirit with supportive friends is always good! Looks beautiful there!
    We are 1400 miles and 8 days into our 2 month trip – good good times!! Sure wishing we could run into you!

  4. John says:

    I really liked Teddy Roosevelt. I walked just a few feet from a life-sized buffalo “sculpture” near the visitors center–only to realize it was real and taking a few steps sideways from me. Scared the stuffing out of me. :=)

    • Hi John, in 1918 Teddy R said ” I have always said I never would have been President if it had not been for my experiences in North Dakota.” Very interesting.

      I had a similar buffalo experience to yours. I was in Yellowstone National Park many years ago, driving along and I saw a ‘statue’ of a buffalo along the side of the road. I didn’t like that…in fact I felt offended that they would put a statue of a buffalo in that spot…it was almost like tricking people. Then it moved! Startled the heck out of me! But restored my faith in the National Park system! 😂😂

  5. Laura says:

    Thought of you when we were close by in Minnesota, why yes those prairies roll on and on…How ’bout this wrench in the works – check out rs, for a sept/oct euro tour. Oh what to do?!??!
    hugs
    Laura

  6. einercnm says:

    Oh Micky, I can’t even begin to imagine all the beauty and fascinating things you have seen,experienced and written about. I hope that you might think about turning all this into a book. your words evoke so many feelings and memories of New Mexico and Arizona for me. because you have traveled so far and captured the sites,sensations and new knowledge so well,book would be incredible. I also sense your fears for your dogs.I have a lot of those,especially after losing Katy the way I did. I still can’t think about it without tearing up. But I know that you are very sensitive to what is happening around you and cope with travails the best way possible. I am getting my camper ready for travel and am looking forward to seeing something other than my backyard. My very best to you and yours,Elinor.

    • Oh Elinor, I am so sorry. I didn’t know you lost Katy. We need to email.

      It’s so hard for me to believe that this would be a successful book. I like writing it…that’s how I have expressed ‘me’ most of my life…by writing…and it’s a god way to share it and keep a record. Well, it is a book already, in a way.

  7. Deb says:

    So nice to be with good friends. They have brought your smile back. I always look
    Forword to your post. And your adventures. As a widow in her late sixties with my
    Buddy Ebony you give me strength. Take care

  8. So glad to hear that you are regaining your “balance”. You are such an inspiration to me! The ranch with Colleen & Fred sounds like the perfect place to be. I find that being on farmland is the place I feel most grounded! I also plan on going back to Michigan later this summer, but imagine you will be gone by the time I get there. Hugs to you, Joy & Shiloh!!

    • Hi Pat, in the past, gardening has grounded me… literally being on my knees on the ground, working in the dirt.
      Well let’s keep an eye open for dates and places when and where we are in Michigan these next few months!
      Likewise Pat, you inspire me.

  9. Ego.... says:

    You look decades younger than when I first met you. You’ve found your road to happiness. 🙂💜

  10. Pam says:

    Safe travels Mick.

  11. Michael says:

    Colleen and Fred, salt of the earth folks. Draw on their strength, I bet they have plenty to share. I think you have strength, more than you know. I’m sending you good thoughts, hope and confidence. ” If life were predictable it would cease to be life, and be without flavor. ” Eleanor Roosevelt.

  12. Hi Michael…They are the Salt of the earth, you got that right. As are you. Thanks for all the good vibes…all very much appreciated. Nice quote!

Leave a Reply

