From Wild Open Spaces To The Land Of Trees and Lakes

I say an emotional good-bye to Fred and Colleen, and head east, slowly.

IMG_2182A rainbow out at the farm.

While at camp sites I keep busy planning my journey, figuring out where I’ll stay over the next few months, and making reservations.  I’m late doing it, so some of the places I’d like to stay on Lake Superior are filled.  I do manage to get a few (5 actually) lakeside nights in July, AND they are pull through!

FullSizeRender.jpgHere is Colleen and Fred’s, Daisy, wearing lilacs in her lilac colored collar.

I must say, I’ve never seen so many lilacs.  I’m in the right place at the right time for them.  They are one of my favorite flowers, and the fragrance sparks memories all the way back to my childhood.

IMG_3839

At the KOA Kampground in Bismarck, ND.

IMG_3841

We are in Minnesota now, and the landscape has changed from the wide open prairie where you can see for 30 miles, easily, to trees, and trees and more trees, and water…lakes and rivers that are full.

IMG_3846A really nice trail in Walker, MN.

We are actually at the very eastern edge of Minnesota, and the vast Lake Superior lies before us, as we take the North Shore Drive near Duluth.

IMG_2199Foggy morning on the Lake Superior shoreline.

The past few days have been cold and blustery with rain and drizzle.  That’s the way spring is though, and I’m just trying to be thankful for the rain.  Wish I could share it with Colleen and Fred, since western ND has been on the dry side this spring.

Once again the beauty and diversity of this earth amazes me.  Gazing out at Lake Superior in the fog is mesmerizing.

Most of the first half of my life was spent in Michigan and I’m looking forward to spending time there this summer…we are almost there…Monday we should be entering the Upper Peninsula!

I’ve lacked good connectivity for some days now, and haven’t been able to post.  Even now, I had to take a drive to send this blog out.  But we’re still here!

IMG_3831

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to From Wild Open Spaces To The Land Of Trees and Lakes

  1. Patty says:

    Looks great Micky. We are in the Grand Tetons and feeling very lucky to have missed the massive storm in the greater Denver area. We had been is Estes Park for 4 nights and they just had 12″ of snow! Phew! Your tip of leaving the cabinets open etc helped us and thanks! Pretty chilly here but so beautiful!

    • The Tetons are on my list of Most Beautiful Places. I haven’t been there in many years, but hope to get there in the not too distant future.
      Glad that you survived the cold spell!

      • Kitty says:

        Next to northern MN, I’ve spent more vacation (and study) time in the Tetons and Yellowstone than any other spot. We are trying to plan our road trip so that we are somewhere near the total eclipse on August 21, and Jackson is right in the path, but I’m thinking the chance of clouds is high – and there isn’t a hotel or campsite available for 100 miles. Maybe it’s time for a Gathering with Marianne in Nebraska.

        • Last year I thought about reserving something for the eclipse, but really had no idea where I’d be and I never reserved. I don’t really want to be with the crowds either, but it would be nice to be able to see it…
          (Just sent you an email)

  2. Sharron says:

    I hear more happiness in you post than last time. Hope
    you have settled your uncertainty. Be Happy! Hugs, Sharron

  3. dawnkinster says:

    Lilac season here in lower Michigan too. So pretty this year.

    I love love love Lake Superior. Enjoy it! Too cold to swim quite yet but fun to walk along.

  4. Kitty says:

    Are you coming below the Bridge? I would love to visit with you and the fur babies. Watch out for wildlife in the UP, site of my unfortunate rental car v deer/moose battle last year. I’m never driving my own car in the dark up there! My family’s cabin is about 10 miles south of Walker, so I’ve spent a bit of the summer there for most of the last 69 years. Late August/early September this year if you want to come back. 🙂

  5. Pat says:

    I have a dark purple lilac, but it flowered white this year. No idea why.

    • Wow Pat, that seems very unusual, doesn’t it!

      • Kitty says:

        It’s been a fantastic year for lilacs and most of the other spring flowers. Enough rain and sun, not much heat. I have one early white lilac and one late bloomer plus various shades of purple in between. Spirea, wild phlox and a few early wisteria now, and peonies, mock orange, azaleas and clematis soon. I haven’t been home for an entire spring season for quite awhile, so I’m really enjoying it. And I’m a terrible gardener – the plant, leave them alone and see what happens school.

  6. Gerri & Mike says:

    Those lilacs are just beautiful!!
    Glad you had such a nice long visit with your friends!! Nothing better!!
    I like the foggy picture of Lake Superior!!

Leave a Reply

