Thoughts About Independence

(When I sat down to write, I didn’t intend for it to be this!  But this is what came out, so here ya go…)

Independence.

IMG_8652…it comes in many shapes and sizes.  We celebrate it as a nation, and I celebrate it as an individual.  In both cases it depends on so many things.  For our nation it’s the unique people that came together, produced documents and beliefs to govern themselves by, then proceeded to fight for what they believed in.  It was an experiment.  Good things happened.  Bad things happened.  Yes a nation was born, but not without crushing the culture of those who came before, and making slaves of others.  The fighting continues.  The amazing experiment continues…the culture evolves and regresses in waves…at times threatens to drown us…yet we gather together to celebrate and show our patriotism…with the colors we wear, some with the uniforms they have worn, with picnics, with parades, with lots of bangs and booms and flashing lights and special music.  “Oh say does that star spangled banner yet wave, o’r the land of the free and the home of the brave…’

But we aren’t  all free and we aren’t all brave.  We need to work on that.  And so many …things….are not normal right now….and in fact, are quite abnormal and repulsive….and frightening…

Don’t get me wrong, I am thankful for those who have risked and given their lives over the years!  Many have given everything so that I can be sitting here, enjoying my life.  I am thankful that I live here in the USA and am able to reap the rewards of being a retired US baby-boomer citizen…with social security money that I have funded since I was 16 years old…with being able to afford ( with difficulty) an education that allowed me  to have a career, at least part way through my life, that paid me enough to raise my children, save something and provide  a pension.  Thanks to women before me who fought for their rights, I can vote, and can travel and follow this path I have chosen, on my own in relative safety.  I have decent health care that includes Medicare, when I need it.  (For now). Without  fairly good health, I couldn’t live this life style.

So many are not so fortunate.  So many.  Why am I allowed this?  And on the other hand, many have so much more than I do, but I’m satisfied…I’m totally ok.  I’m grateful.  These days though, I sometimes find myself waiting for the other shoe to drop.  (Maybe that should read ‘bomb’ not ‘shoe’?)  I feel that it’s really important to grasp each day…enjoy it, and enjoy our blessings and benefits what ever or where ever they may be.  Live in the moment.  I feel the need to free my mind from the  worries…concerns…anxieties that so often plague it…to breath deeply and concentrate on absorbing the beauty around me, whatever it may be…the green leaves and towering trees….

IMG_2489

the blue waters and sky…

FullSizeRender

and the precious little faces of Joy and Shiloh…

IMG_2484

IMG_2486

Life is precious down here.

Independence and freedom are precious.

Health is precious.

Let’s try not to take any of it for granted.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Thoughts About Independence

  1. Maureen O'Connor says:

    Thank you, Micky. I concur.

  2. Dawn says:

    All of it is very precious. I’m siting on an Alabama deck looking at a blue lake right now. Grateful to my parents for building this place. Sad to be here without them. But still very happy. And enjoying each moment.

  3. Andrea in Glendale says:

    Thank you for these words Mickey. My thoughts as well and each day I take more pleasure and am so thankful for being blessed with what I have.

  4. Marcia GB in MA says:

    Beautiful post. It touched me deeply. Thank you.

  5. Joanne, San Rafael, CA says:

    Beautifully said. I enjoy your blog. We get out as often as possible in our Class B.

  6. Patty says:

    Thank you Micky!

  7. Gypsy says:

    Thank you!

  8. cc and canine (now back in Oregon) says:

    Mickey..I’m a little behind the time in reading your blog, but trying to catch up..hence the late reply.

    .It never ceases to amaze me what an awesome and articulate writer you are. I totally concur with your sentiments. We are living through a scary time period right now. It is always comforting to take solace by appreciating your blessings, your family, (including the furry ones), and the great outdoors. I hope the goldens are doing well;Guinness is fine!

    • Hi Sharon. Good to know you are there, and have similar feelings. Glad to hear Guinness it doing well! Joy has her problems, but she is a strong and brave girl, so far always ready to tackle another day.
      Taking comfort in simple pleasures and natural beauty…so good.

Leave a Reply

