Happy Birthday Joy! 14 Years!

IMG_3076

Joy when she was a few months old.

When my last Golden Girl, Bonnie , passed away, I said ‘No more.  I can’t go through this pain again’.  Then 3 weeks later I was searching….

And  eventually I found Joy.

IMG_3078

First Christmas.  Just over 3 months old. Picture was taken while she was asleep.

I have often called her ‘the most joyful person I know’ and ‘my wild child’, and ‘my wild and crazy girl’.  She has been all of the above.

IMG_3099

This was her first sighting of the ocean.  Sand dunes, Sand City, California.  The beach below these dunes turned out to be one of her Favorite Places.

Her excitable, extraordinary, extreme exuberance has been a problem at times, mostly with her ‘obsessive-compulsive greeting disorder’ as I call it.  The thing is, for her it’s all about love-beyond-measure for everyone and everything that touches her life.

IMG_2859_sRGB

Same beach, so many years later.

So at age 14, she is 98 in human years.  She has various physical problems now, but that strong Joyful spirit is still able to overcome them.

FullSizeRender

I love her and her ‘brother’ so much!

IMG_3097

We will be celebrating all week. 😀

Today we leave St Regis and head south….well south east, but eventually just south.  The going will be slow, to avoid heat.  Looks like instead we will be cold, with 30 degrees at night, and rain and snow in the forecast coming up soon!  This is great news for Montana with its raging fires.

Next is Missoula, Butte, and Dillon Montana, before we head into Idaho, Utah, and Arizona.

Again, Happy Birthday my sweet Joy Bell!

IMG_3091

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Happy Birthday Joy! 14 Years!

  1. dawnkinster says:

    Happy Birthday sweet Joy! It was a pleasure meeting you and your mom and brother this past summer. Enjoy your day/week/month sweet girl!

  2. Patty says:

    Happy Sweet Birthday Joy!

  3. Marcia GB in MA says:

    Aww, Happy Birthday, dear Joy! Happy tails -and trails!

  4. Pat says:

    She was a beautiful puppy and is a lovely old lady. I have 2 seniors in my house right now. You’re right about the pain when they go, but they will always be in my heart and memories. Happy Birthday Joy!

  5. Candace H. says:

    Happy Birthday Joy!

  6. Dottie Persson says:

    Happy Birthday beautiful girl. How much JOY you have brought your mother. ♥♥

  7. Laura says:

    Happy birthday furry friend Joy, what fun to know you, and so glad we got one our your wonderful greetings last month 🙂 And then of course your brother sat on my foot. Love you all!
    Laura

  8. Janet Johnson says:

    What a gorgeous puppy she was! And lovely still. What would we do without our dogs? I couldn’t survive without dogs, and I’m guessing you feel the same way. Happy Birthday Joy!

  9. Heidi says:

    Happy Birthday beautiful Joy! wow! 14! Just proves what a wonder dog mom you are for giving her such great care. What a happy life she has. Hope its a wonderful day!

  10. Lynda Jerome says:

    Happy Birthday Joy. Such a special animal. You can see it in her face. I have a question. I am doing more boondocking with my Casita, but find I am having trouble keeping my battery charged. I have a 75 volt solar panel. The battery is your typical R V battery. Do you use gell cell batteries? They cost a lot more than what I have, but hear they are much better. Am considering buying a couple. Lynda

    • Hi Lynda, good to hear from you. (Wood! Yup I’m a very special girl!)

      No I use the regular 12 volt battery. Just one.
      When my battery was around 5 years old I noticed it
      wasnt holding a charge like it used to. It was holding it shorter and shorter
      lengths of time. I figured it was time for a new one and that fixed the problem.
      My solar panel on the top of WS is only 40 watts. ( either that or 60 but
      I’m pretty sure it’s 40). When I’m boon docking I only use the basics….
      lights, and water pump. Furnace blower when necessary. (It uses a lot of power).
      I also use the Honda 2000 generator when needed to charge the battery.
      Depending on sunshine and position, that might be anhour or two every few days to every 10 days. When I want to use the blender
      or the hair dryer I just plug those things into the generator.

  11. Alice says:

    She is beautiful and you picked the perfect name for her. I don’t write often but do enjoy reading your posts and seeing the pictures.

  12. Happy Birthday sweet Joy!!!!! She is all Golden for sure!!!!! Such love!!!!

  13. cc and canine (now back in Oregon) says:

    Wuff, wuff! Guinness dog sends his best to lady Joy!! He is so pleased to have met her and Shiloh and the Meteor Crater RV Park dog park!! He wants me to remind you that his predecessor Golden, Sparky, had a great life RVing until he was 16! In fact, he is the reason that mom and dad went out and bought a trailer….he absolutely hated the kennel!

    Happy tails to all 3 of you!

    • ARF Guinness! Thank you for the birthday wishes. Mom is still celebrating! She was finally able to get to a store yesterday and came out with a bag full of dog toys and goodies. Mostly goodies cuz we already have a toy box full of toys! Fine with me. She’s hiding the bag though and only brings out a little at a time!
      Hi Sharon, Wow 16, and he still enjoyed it. That’s good to hear. Will be staying a night at Meteor Crator in October…when going between the White Mts and Grand Canyon. Stayed there for a week last spring and thought of you guys a lot.

  14. Paula says:

    Happy Birthday, sweet Joy! Glad to hear you are celebrating all week 🙂 Wishing you all your favorite treats and lots of fun!!

Leave a Reply

