Little House On The Prairie

In California I wrote about fairies dancing in the Redwood trees, and in Oregon a T Rex nearly swallowed Wandering Spirit whole….(see picture from a couple blogs back).  In Washington, I didn’t mention it but I was watching for a certain werewolf named Jacob, but he never showed.  Darn.  🙂  Guess he is off living happily ever after with Renesmee.

Washington did have a surprise for me though….Little House On The Prairie.  I found my friend Marsha living in it. Not literally.  Her very comfortable home is just the right size.IMG_0289

 I mentioned before that when I think of Washington I think of the word ‘lush’….everything deep green, lots of green grass and water everywhere.  Wrong!  There is another side to Washington that I hadn’t met before, literally, the east side.  Rolling prairie, mostly covered with crops that are all golden right now.  

The family home where Marsha grew up.

The family home where Marsha grew up.

 

A combine pouring wheat into a truck to be taken to a grain elevator.

A combine pouring wheat into a truck to be taken to a grain elevator.

Marsha and I worked together years ago.  She retired early and  now runs a highly successful dog kenneling business. (Cats can come too!)  At any given time she watches over about a dozen or so pets of people who have to be away on business or pleasure, and they are lucky dogs when they get to stay with Marsha! 

Joy and Shiloh joined right in with the rest of the gang and had a great time while Marsha and I caught up on what’s new.  

The kennel mamma!

The kennel mamma!

Lets relax!

Lets relax!

IMG_0346

Dogs at play

Dogs at play

 

I get to see some of the tiny (and I do mean tiny!) local communities, actually considered towns, but with only a few businesses at the crossroads. 

Spokane is a comfortable 15 miles away.  We drive there on Saturday to go to the Farmers Market, Huckleberry Grocery, and the hardware store.  

We see a beautiful sunset on Saturday evening!IMG_0358

Sunrise isn’t shabby either. IMG_0291

I finally tend to a couple of chores that have been calling my name.  Marsha has a tall ladder so I am able to fix the rubber gasket that has come loose from around the outside of the ventilation fan.  I hope it stays fixed…I’m not fond of climbing ladders.  Also, I finally used my little compressor to put some air in Wandering Spirit’s spare tire.  My bad, for not doing it sooner!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Little House On The Prairie

  1. Oh dear. 🙂 Thought I better clarify about Jacob the werewolf. Many may not know what the heck I’m talking about. He was one of the characters in the “Twilight” series that caught my fancy! Fairies dancing in the redwoods were part of a poem I wrote and posted on the blog. I found the T Rex along the road at a dinosaur park and he tickled my sense of humor so I parked my rig near him. The dogs took a potty break and when I surveyed the scene from a distance, it looked like he was going to make a meal of us, so I took a picture. We escaped unharmed!

  2. ZenOnWheels says:

    Too bad about not seeing Jacob 🙂

    A farm in eastern WA with a dog kennel sounds like a wonderful way to spend retirement. Your friend Marsha has a sweet life! Having lots of pups around sounds like a great way to spend a day.

  3. Marsha says:

    I can’t tell you how much fun it was to see you after so many years!!! I am so happy you stopped by. And I was thrilled to share some of my ‘new’ life with you! Thanks for doing this blog – it will be fun to share your ‘new’ life too!!!

  4. Thanks so much for everything Marsha. Yes, I really enjoyed our time together too! I love that your new life is on your own terms. You go girl!

Leave a comment