Rocky Mountain High

As I view the continental divide I think about the song that I began this blog with, “Roll Me Away”.

“Rolled across the high plains
Deep into the mountains
Felt so good to me
Finally feeling free.”

Stood alone on a mountain top
Staring out at the great divide.
I could go east,I could go west
It was all up to me to decide.
Just then I saw a young hawk flying
And my soul began to rise
And pretty soon my heart was singing,

Roll me away, I’m gonna roll me away tonight.
Gotta keep rolling, gotta keep riding,
Keep searching till I find what’s right.
And as the sunset faded,
I spoke to the faintest first starlight
And I said, next time…
Next time we’ll get it right.”

This day is what I was thinking about when I started this blog. The feelings I feel now are the ones I’ve longed to feel since I started thinking about living this lifestyle, I few years ago.

I play John Denver’s “Rocky Mountain High” and tears flow.

“My sight is turned inside myself as I try and understand
The serenity of a clear blue mountain lake.”

Nature is astoundingly, heart-wrenchingly, beautiful!

I drive along, singing, trying to take it all in, and knowing that yes, I can go east or I can go west and it really, truly is all up to me to decide.
I am grateful for this day.

(Once again, having trouble with pictures.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rocky Mountain High

  1. Leslie from Australia says:

    Well – sounds like the longed for unwind and realization that your dream is just turning into reality has it’s claws into you. Your happiness comes across – enjoy the feeling – am enjoying my serial ride along with you all…cheers

  2. Yes! I think it’s finally sinking in a little bit! Three plus weeks on the road now, and oh my gosh, I think this is real! I’m not dreaming!

  3. caroline says:

    You’re making good time! I think I found your blog thru RVSue. I look forward to reading about the start of a newbie’s adventure….. fun times ahead for allof us , plus some learning opportunities. Cheers!

    • If I’m making good time, then I need to slow down! :-))
      Yes, you probably did find me through RVSue. I’ve been riding along with her since she was a newbie 🙂 .
      So much to learn, and it helps when you are learning with me.

  4. Whew…gave me cold chills. I crave that feeling so much! Over the last couple of years trying to recharge my life, I’ve decided that the “serenity of a clear blue mountain lake” is what is calling me. Fearful though I’d somehow be let down. This post, and that durn song, spurs me on. Someday.
    Although you’re a stranger, I am incredibly happy that your someday is here!

    • I know what you mean about the chills. I sit here looking around me and I just feel the good energy soaking in. I breath deeply to bring it in all the more. It makes me Know for sure that we are not just physical bodies and brains…we are spirit, and we are one with nature, though often we forget…

  5. Marian says:

    I feel like I’m on the road with you, Micky! Thank you for sharing your joyful journey! love ~ Marian

  6. ZenOnWheels says:

    That’s a great feeling…I am so glad you found it! Fellow John Denver fan here, too, by the way. Growing up we would sing his songs as a family while my sister played his music on the piano. Dad would also play a John Denver 8-track tape in the station wagon when we would go out on road trips, so I am lucky to have happy associations with his music.

    I can see the joy of your experience from your writing. I am really happy for you!

  7. rambler2b says:

    My 2nd attempt to post. For some reason the first one did not come across. Just wanted to say how touched I was reading this post. I can really feel the “Rocky Mountain High!” Also loved John Denver’s music. Takes me back to a special time in my life. Thanks so much for writing this blog. Helps to “Roll Me Away!” P.S. (Glad I am not the only one having trouble posting pictures on wordpress!)

  8. Sometimes music seems to intensify feelings, at least that’s what I find. When the feelings are good, then more intense is a good thing. Glad you got rolled away….looking forward to when you can roll away in your RV and come out here too!

Leave a comment